Skip to content

My night in a Red Cross evacuation shelter because of a plant!

June 28, 2012

My first experience with the Red Cross…

I stayed at a Red Cross evacuation center overnight just once. It was an warm October night back in 1988. I was in high school so my primary worries concerned girls (one named Michelle at the time), pimples, and sports. This particular night I was given something a little more to worry about. My family was awakened by the sound of a police officer pounding on our front door.

Let me add some context to this police door knock:

I grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area city of Fremont. My neighborhood bordered a 25 acre gladiolus (or is it gladiola — someone feel free to correct me) field. Earlier in the day the field was sprayed with the pesticide Methyl Bromide and then covered with large tarps. Now if Methyl Bromide sounds like something that does not react well with people you would be correct. Concentrated exposure leads to headaches, dizziness, fainting, apathy, weakness, confusion, speech impairment, visual effects, numbness, twitching — you get the point. It’s banned in this country now.

Back to the story. Evidently hot weather that day caused the Methyl Bromide to heat up and escape the tarps forming a “gas cloud of death” (phrasing my friends and I used after the incident) high in the sky. Many of my neighbors started complaining of sore eyes, nausea, and headaches that evening. Someone was quoted as saying it was like getting hit in the face with mace (I have been maced in the face but that story is for another time). Someone finally put the puzzle pieces together and realized the pesticide had drifted from the field to my neighborhood.

1,400 folks were evacuated from 600 homes that night by the police. We barely had time to grab a change of clothes as we were evacuated. I made sure I got my clothes out as I was not about to be caught outside in my Star Wars pajamas; I was in high school but still loved all things Star Wars. The police officer directed my family to a Red Cross evacuation shelter that was set up at a local elementary school. I was given a warm blanket and cup of hot chocolate by a caring worker. I don’t remember her name or what she looked like but I recall the feeling of safety and caring she radiated. I could hear some subdued crying but by this time I was thinking how cool the whole experience was turning out to be.

I located some of my friends and we hung out and talked all night in the safety and security of that Red Cross shelter. The girl I had a crush on at the time, Michelle was among those I talked with that night.

A week after the incident the owner of the gladiolus (still wondering if it’s gladiola or gladiolas or gladiolus! Seriously feel free to correct me) fields gave all the homes in my neighborhood an apology letter attached to a ….. (wait for it)….. gladiola bouquet. No one appreciated those stupid bouquets.

I want to thank the police officer who knocked on my door in the middle of the night.

I want to thank the Red Cross for providing a shelter for my family and I to be safe in.

Most of all I want to thank a Methyl Bromide “gas cloud of death” for providing the opportunity for me to spend the night talking with the girl I had a crush on.

Funny, I don’t even remember Michelle’s last name anymore. I guess over time the unimportant details drift from our minds. One detail that will never leave me is how helpful the Red Cross was that night.

On a serious note, let me quote from the newswire: “On June 27, 2012 The American Red Cross is providing critical help to thousands of people affected by the raging wildfires in the west and the massive flooding in Florida.” As I write this The Red Cross is sheltering families who were evacuated from their homes. If you have the means please consider giving to this wonderful organization.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2012 6:41 am

    Thanks Mike for an excellent post! I had no idea until recently how much the American Red Cross does in communities across the world to provide immediate relief from suffering.
    Here is a link to make that donation now: https://american.redcross.org/site/SPageServer?pagename=ntld_corpmicrosite&s_company=puroclean-pub&JServSessionIdr004=f7c0ggq8q1.app293b

  2. July 7, 2012 12:55 pm

    This is Wendy from the American Red Cross. Thanks so much for sharing this story and for your kind words and support. Let’s hope all the little boys in shelters this past week are there with their Michelles.

  3. Gail Buesnel permalink
    August 20, 2012 10:38 am

    Mike thank you for your post, as one who worked the shelter after TS Debby I thank you for your kind comments. The Red Cross is always there, and we get there as quickly as we can. It is our joy to serve.

Leave a comment