Skip to content

How Do Dinosaurs Go To School

August 3, 2011

My first experience with learning about fire safety as a child was after I accidentally set my house on fire (total accident I assure you).  The fire fighters, still wearing full gear surrounded me in a tight circle as each lectured me on my actions.  I cried.  I learned.

Here is a much better way for kids to learn about fire safety:

Both the Seattle Fire and Police Departments have partnered with the Seattle Public Library for a summer reading program aimed at increasing literacy and raising awareness of home fire safety and school safety.

Read about the experience here.

I wish a police officer read “How Do Dinosaurs Go To School,” when I was young.  Actually police officers were forced to READ me my rights on occasion.

Good for our fire fighter and police officer hero’s!

P.S.  The first person to find the glaring typo in the article referenced here, gets an iTunes gift card compliments of me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. MCR permalink
    August 4, 2011 3:29 pm

    Got 😉 I should look around and see if my local county offers fire safety for kids….great idea!

  2. August 4, 2011 4:55 pm

    You win. Emailing you for confirmation.

    Congrats,

    Mike

Leave a comment